Skip to content

SOLD: 1965 Schwinn Traveler

August 19, 2012

Update (8/21/2012): Sold to a very nice girl whose bikey boyfriend is trying to get into cycling (sounds familiar). I know they’ll enjoy it!

Well my building’s bike room is becoming increasingly more crowded. I recently ordered a Jamis Commuter 3 for the wife from Bicycle Space. The old rusty Schwinn we purchased a year ago had the dual purpose of being a fun project for me and letting the wife see the possibilities of city bike riding. Both objectives were met! She is now ready to trade-up the steel tank for something a little more nimble.

While I figure most of my local DC readers probably aren’t interested, just in case anyone has a friend or colleague (who no doubt has become fascinated with your own bike adventures they’re beginning to want to try it themselves) I’ve listed the details here. And I’m sure we could work out a deal for friends of the blog – seriously. 🙂

This is a 3-speed 19″ women’s Schwinn Traveler with 26″ wheels. It’s a small framed bike and will fit someone between 5′ – 5’5″ (give or take).

This bike was meticulously restored a few months ago and ridden very little since. In addition to scrubbing away surface rust and clear-coating any scratches, I replaced the brake pads with Kool Stop Salmon brake pads; replaced all brake and shifter cables and housing, added new handlebar grips, new chain, new tires and tubes, and even a basket (for farmer’s market runs). The shifter lever and components were also replaced while the three-speed internal Sturmey Archer gear hub was serviced and overhauled. It was a fun project but it’s time to free up some space.

The bike is in surprisingly great condition for its age with only few expected scuffs. This bike is a steel tank – so it can take a beating and will continue to stand the test of time. It’s great for someone just getting into biking or who wants a townie bike where they don’t have to be constantly worried when it’s locked outside (the wheels and seat post are both bolted too).

Please respond “Blue Schwinn” in the subject line or I will not answer. Thanks for looking!

If interested you can click the “Contact Me” link at the top of this page. The craigslist posting can be found here. It’s currently listed at $175 but as mentioned above deals can be cut.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2012 5:29 pm

    Hoorah! Does this mean Mrs. BicycleBug will join us next time?? :).

    • August 19, 2012 5:31 pm

      haha…I tried to get her to go with drop bars but she still liked the upright city bike. We’ll see how it goes…

  2. September 7, 2012 2:57 pm

    That’s an adorable bike. I’m glad it found a good home. And I love my upright hybrid, so I understand. I think drop bars would hurt my back.

Leave a Reply

