Skip to content

What bike gear would you get if given $500?

May 20, 2012

After yesterday’s long overdue purchase of new wheels I figured it’s time for a little hypothetical question – imagine you are leisurely riding down your favorite trail and see another cyclist in distress. Always prepared and altruistic, you stop to help him change his flat. It turns out he’s the secret partner to the area’s best bike shop. Ever grateful, he says, “It’s your lucky day. I’m going to give you anything in my shop up to $500!”

You’ve got an hour to choose what you want.  It has to be things like lights, panniers, apparel, tools, components or some other kind of bicycling gear that you’d find in any normal bicycle shop – what would you get? You can get as many products as you like as long as they total $500 or less.

Lets use the prices at Amazon’s Bike Commuter Section as a guide (they have the most things) but don’t get too caught up in the details – really I’m asking what gear you’re currently eying!

For me, I’ve been getting an itchy clicker finger for these Crank Brothers Pedals.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2012 8:20 pm

    Tough call. I need a new seat for my recumbent and a new fairing. They’ll easily cost $500.

    For conventional bike stuff, I’d buy Speedplay Frogs and a pair of Sidi shoes (they are expensive but they are wide),

  2. May 21, 2012 8:20 am

    I’ve had my eye on Crank Brothers Candys for a while. So if I got that, I’d then need new shoes. But it’s still about bags for me– I’ve been eyeing those from Revelate Designs.

  3. May 21, 2012 10:23 am

    Well it’s a seat base, a big triple foam seat cushion, a metal frame, some mesh fabric some parachute chord, and some hardware to connect it all.. More like a car seat than a saddle. Mine has lasted nearly 30,000 miles so no complaints here.

  4. Dave permalink
    May 21, 2012 12:47 pm

    I second the Sidi shoes. In mega (wide).

  5. May 23, 2012 7:24 am

    Ooh I reckon a Brooks saddle, new MKS folding pedals, new bars, grips and bar ends, slick tyres, a saddle bag and handlebar bag. If there’s any left it can go on tools and innertubes.

    • May 23, 2012 7:50 am

      Now THAT’s a list. I guess you’re out of the new bike honeymoon phase. I’ve been debating types of Dahon pedal upgrades too. The current stock ones are just too slick when wet.

      • May 28, 2012 6:25 pm

        I still don’t for the life of me know why they put such cheap looking plastic pedals on a bike that cost over £500. I have disliked them from day one but the rest of the bike is great. It will definitely be getting MKS folders and a Brooks saddle when funds allow.

      • May 30, 2012 3:02 pm

        I finally caved a bought a pair of MKS FD-7 pedals…I think the metal will be much better for wet weather (the “non-slip grips” on the plastic stock are junk).

Leave a Reply

