Skip to content

#30daysofbiking: Day 30

April 30, 2012

So today was it, the final day of 30 Days of Biking. And it was a bit anticlimactic really. I woke up this morning with the vision to go on a long outing.  Then decided to do a few interesting utility errands instead. In the end, I only managed a lap around the neighborhood to ops check my new fenders.

I spent the last seven months modifying my Trek 4300 mountain bike into my ideal commuter. Its turned out to be quite a modification list which includes: a Brooks B17 saddle; Ergon C2 grips; 2 water bottle cages; a Topeak Road Morph pump; a few Planet Bike lights; my Topeak rack; Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires; a bell; Power Grips, and lastly a set of clip-on Zefal classic fenders. After installing the fenders last night, I told my wife the bike was complete and nothing more could be done to it. Today, I window shopped for bike computers.

Like the constant additions to my Trek, the official end to 30 Days of Biking doesn’t really mean we stop. There will always be opportunities to get out, explore, and just ride!

Distance: 1.6 miles

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2012 9:52 pm

    BB, you’re just getting started. On my Sequoia I’ve replaced the fenders, the saddle (3 or 4 times), the wheels, the pedals (3 or 4 times also), the stem, the handlebars, the handlebar tape (too many times to recall) the handlebar bag, the saddle bag (twice), the bell, the brake levers, the shifters (3 or 4 times). I removed the generator light system. I’ve added racks front and rear. Lord knows how many tires I’ve gone through.

    Of course, I’ve had the bike for 19 years….

    • April 30, 2012 9:55 pm

      Well, now I don’t feel so bad plus there’s something to aspire to 🙂

  2. April 30, 2012 10:09 pm

    Nice ride! Love the Brooks saddle – how was it breaking in?

    • April 30, 2012 10:13 pm

      Nothing a good padded set of bike shorts couldn’t handle. I also massaged it with proofide to help soften the leather and break it in quicker.

  3. May 1, 2012 3:35 am

    Very nice!

  4. May 1, 2012 8:39 am

    Ha! It’s a lot like the shopping list I have to convert my mediocre hybrid into a long-distance commuter/touring bike. I know full well that the list of modifications will never be complete but that’s all part of the fun. 🙂

  5. May 1, 2012 8:39 am

    Meant to say, it’s a nice bike BTW.

Leave a Reply

