Skip to content

#30daysofbiking: Day 13

April 13, 2012

Cyclists do it on bicycles.

“Yoo-hoo…honey, wake up!” I didn’t even know her name.

For the record, this occurred at the busy intersection of Gallatin and North Capitol Streets.  She waved to get my attention as she crossed the street.  I waited for the light to change before continuing on with my own bike commute.  For the record, I wasn’t really asleep.  But, I may have zoned out a bit.  Oh, I should mention that my opening sentences may be a tad misleading.  I smiled back at the woman and told her there would be coffee where I was headed so all is well.  Why was I so drained this morning?

CC Image courtesy of Flickr user Angela

The previous night we went to a concert at the 9:30 Club.  The Ting Tings played a great set and I’m happy they’re back on tour.  The duo was full of energy and the sold-out crowd responded enthusiastically.  Unfortunately, it’s events like this that make me realize I’m getting old.  I just can’t bounce back like the olden days.

After work this evening, I stuck around for my department’s monthly happy hour.  I drank a beer called “Bitter American” which had an image of a chimp in a spacesuit (Sorry, monkey).  By the time I left, the sun was setting giving me the opportunity to make sure my lights still worked.  A combination of daylight savings, longer days, and new work schedule has limited my night riding these past few months.  But tonight, the usual trails and roads were new and mysterious again.  Even the air smelled and felt different.  Night riding is special and I miss it.

Distance: 18.3 miles

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2012 11:10 pm

    It was a busy week…you’re not even 30 yet! Keep on biking!

Trackbacks

  1. #30daysofbiking: Day 18 « Bicycle Bug's Blog

Leave a Reply

