Skip to content

#30daysofbiking: Day 10

April 10, 2012

This post is actually very important and it’s not because of my ride today. The work commute was lovely with only a slight breeze. I road behind another neon-jacketed commuter this morning coming into College Park so that was exciting, sort of. Also, I got to miss this mess this morning – hurray for #bikedc. But now to real business. Today, I want to use this medium to make you aware of two very worthy causes.

The first is Tales From the Sharrows button sales. This is his second round of sales. In December, Brian raised a bunch of money for the Washington Area Bicyclist Association. I purchased a couple of buttons last time and let me tell you, best investment decision of my life (mine were solid gold though, but not really). If buttons aren’t your thing, you can up the donation and have him sing karaoke for you. Not convinced yet? Rumor has it, Brian’s voice sounds like this guy’s.

When finished there, head over to Girl on Her Bike blog and donate to Kate’s Police Unity Tour. The goal is to raise funds for the National Law Enforcement Officer’s Memorial Fund. Absolutely a worthy cause! She will also be at The Daily Rider (1108 H St. NE) this Sunday, April 15th from 12-4 for a bike wash fundraiser. For all the riding I’ve been putting in during the first half of 30 days of biking I know my bike sure could use it.

Lastly, I realize most of you are probably already aware of these events. But, if even one person “accidentally” finds this site through Google and donates then that would be awesome. So anyone finding this site by the usual top search terms, “Lloyd Christmas,” “Jim Blackburn,” “Bridgestone 400,” or “buff pirate” sorry I don’t have what you were looking for today. But while you’re here you might as well give a little. Thanks you!

Distance: 17.2 miles

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

