Skip to content

#30daysofbiking: Day 4

April 4, 2012

Last night, the weather channel said rain.  I picked my bike, riding attire, and assorted gear based on this prediction.  They were wrong – ride in was dry, ride home today will be dry.  Fortunately, this gave me a chance to linger a bit and enjoy the last of the magnificent spring blooms.

It’s the first Wednesday of the month which means UMD host Commuter’s Breakfast.  Being a bike commuter, it’s a free meal I’m actually entitled to (unlike most other events grad students crash when the flier mentions the phrase “refreshments will be served”).  I quickly stopped in, grabbed a raisin bagel, used the blunt side of a butter knife to destroy a bagel (sometimes I’m not what you would call “smart”), glanced at a booth advertising Bike Week next week, and then hurried off to class.  And here is where things got weird.  I won’t get into a full rant, but this “bagel” was chocolate chip.  Folks, I’m not the first person to make this observation, but there is a fine line between bagel and donut.  And it’s important that this line remains solid, unwavering, and uncompromising.  There can never be “a best of both worlds” when it comes to these ring-shaped items.  One will always be just an impostor.

Park police apprehending a fake donut dealer

After some teaching and a stomach full of (free) Indian food, I rode home in more beautiful weather.  The parks along the NE Branch Trail were packed – soccer, picnics, and even some cricket players. I saw one bike cop at an ice cream truck.  If I had taken a photo, I would have included the caption: “To (soft) serve and protect.”

Distance: 17.2 miles

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

