Skip to content

#30daysofbiking: Day 1

April 1, 2012

If everyday in April is going to be like today (partly cloudy, 65F, light breeze), this 30 days of biking thing is going to be a piece of cake.
20120401-191315.jpg
Taking advantage of weekend car-free Beech Drive in Rock Creek Park (but with a different kind of traffic), I started my trip heading north of the zoo. Passing and getting past, I linked to the Capital Crescent trail. I continued south along its gravely path (aka super biker repellant) and into Chevy Chase. Passing City Bikes, I figured I would stop to see if they had a flag for the dog trailer. Having called a few bike shops the past day, I wasn’t very optimistic. Success! The trip wasn’t meant to be a utilitaire, but I didn’t have a real purpose either – so all good.
20120401-191435.jpg
Past Bethesda, the trail traffic picked up substantially. I feel I have a knack for projecting – effortlessly weaving through path users (likely due to years of Frogger). However this was too much to sustain my easy pace. Eventually, I made it back to the south end of Rock Creek Trail by Georgetown finishing my trip.

Distance: 20.8 miles of a nearly total car-free route without breaking a sweat. Day 1: loving the bike!
20120401-191444.jpg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

