Skip to content

Celebratory Utilitaire 12: #12

March 9, 2012

#12. Bike to Dinner, Round-trip Mileage: 2.3 Miles, March 8, 2012

The only thing stopping me from finishing my 12th utilitaire was a 10-pound stack of lab reports that needed grading. In other words, there was nothing stopping me from completing my last control point.

After locking up my bike outside Meridian Pint in Columbia Heights, I made my way to the bar and sandwiched myself in the last remaining empty seat. Meridian Pint is an awesome bar with a huge selection of American craft beer. Not content with standard bar fare, they also make delicious food including a decent selection of vegetarian options. I started off the evening with a locally brewed DC Brau Porter.

20120309-100530.jpg

It didn’t take long to realize one of the guys sitting next to me was a beer snob aficionado with a wealth of beer knowledge. Something caught his eye. “What’s this?” he asked the bartender. The Stillwater Premium dubbed a “Post Prohibition Style Ale” was described by the bartender as “pretty wild.” The intrigued aficionado asked for a taste. I watched. He sipped. “Woah!” His eyes widened and a smile appeared on his face. “That is bizarre…in a good way.” Now, I needed to see what the fuss was about. It was definitely a unique beer with complex tastes and a finish that could best be described as liquid cornbread (in a good way).

After discovering our tastes in beer were similar, he gave me a rundown of the must-try beers on the list. His favorite were Stillwater beers, whose brewmaster was based right up the road in Baltimore. I finished the evening sipping on beer from a special cask called Burial at Sea (fitting for my fried catfish sandwich). This beer was a collaboration between DC Brau and Baltimore’s Oliver Ales brewery. In addition to draft, there were actually three separate casks to choose from, all with their own unique flavors and notes. It is also worth noting that this just happened to be the DC release party with both sets of brewers in attendance (I assume it was planned to coincide with my Utilitaire 12 accomplishment).

After arriving home I was still a tenth of a mile short of the minimum distance. This was ideal though because it gave me the opportunity to complete an around the block victory lap!

The complete Utilitaire 12 series can be found here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. David Ivey permalink
    March 9, 2012 10:38 am

    Bicycles and craft beer go together very well. I used to bike a lot and still need to. We even have a tandem – what a blast to ride! Except uphill – but you know that the downhills make up for it – usually,

    Enjoy your biking and brews.
    Cheers!

    David

  2. March 9, 2012 11:06 am

    Bravo, well done!

Trackbacks

  1. Utilitaire Roundup: the Final Week! « chasing mailboxes d.c.

Leave a Reply

