Skip to content

Utilitaire 12: #5

February 16, 2012

#5. Bike to Haircut, Round-trip Mileage: 2.75 Miles, February 12, 2012

Well I don’t want to blame this one entirely on the Utiltaire but, it definitely played a role.  My usual barber is an old Puerto Rican man who speaks broken English.  However, since I speak very broken Spanish this is not a problem.  I’ve always been happy with his work and admire his Queen’s Fat Bottomed Girls poster hanging above the door (I like the bikes).  Alas, he is a mere block from my house and not within the confines of the 1-mile minimum ultilitaire rule.  I went looking elsewhere.

I picked a random barber not too far from work.  Oh, and what’s this?  It’s located in the same strip mall as REI.  What a surprise and not at all planned.  Of course, I needed to stop into REI before getting my haircut with it being right there and everything – totally by chance.

First impression of the barber shop were good.  Early 90s head shots of children with outdated bowl cuts and calcium crusted sinks last used when those head shot posters weren’t faded yellow. No frills – my kind of place.  The man waiting ahead of me passed on the old Asian lady hair cutter.  I was up.

Conversation was pleasant.  I had set my folded Dahon by the coats so most conversation centered around cycling.  Fine with me.  She talked about how in her country (?) everyone used to travel by bike but now they use motorcycles.  There was something about Austrialia but my AADHD kicked in and I lost focus.  It wasn’t until she started talking about her six years in Germany with her husband that I tuned back in.  Wait, what’s that about your husband being in the military?  You worked on the base cutting hair?

I am very familiar with the talents of military base barbers.  For $6, they will shave your head.  Also, for $6 dollars they can cut your hair anyway you want.  But then you have to shave it when you get home (to hide  the results).   I thought about the man before me passing on her.  It was all becoming clear.

I’m always inclined to give a new haircut a couple of days to grow in before making any judgement calls.  However, minutes after getting home my wife offered to “treat me” to a haircut for Valentine’s day.  This was followed-up by being mocked by two “friends” at work the next day.  How do you guys think it looks?  Think it’ll grow in ok?

Just kidding.  That’s not me.  I haven’t been in a limo this week yet.  Here’s me in my favorite suit (miffed because I haven’t been in a limo this week yet).

The complete Utilitaire 12 series can be found here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2012 10:00 pm

    Oooh, that sucks that the haircut didn’t work out. My husband always has issues getting a good haircut – men’s hair isn’t nearly as simple as most people (including barbers) think it is. Wearing a helmet will hide it at least!

    • February 22, 2012 10:11 am

      I think she might have cut it so it would fit the contours of my helmet.

Trackbacks

  1. Utilitaire 12, Week 3 Roundup: Wheels Keep Turning « chasing mailboxes d.c.

Leave a Reply

