Skip to content

Utilitaire 12: #3

February 13, 2012

#3. Bike to Breakfast, Roundtrip Mileage: 2.2 Miles, February 9, 2012

Grabbing some more long hanging Utilitaire 12 fruit, I zipped over for coffee and a muffin in between classes on Friday. The quick ride through campus walkways and sidewalks was largely uneventful. I arrived at the coffee shop which may or may not have been a Starbucks. It also may or may not have been some ultra-hipster coffee shop that only appeared to be a Starbucks. Why? Because they were being ironic, of course.

While locking up the bike I was hit suddenly with paranoia. Was it safe to keep my bike here? Yes, I locked my bike up here many times before but I felt like something more had to be done this time. I double checked the locks and sign post they were attached to. Solid. For a reason I can’t explain, I put a plastic cover over my Brooks saddle. This would stop an expirenced bike thief for sure. @Dirteng suggested a cheap gel cover from Wallyworld would be more effective. Not bad, but I think a toxic spore ladened cover slip would be superior.

Once inside, the paranoia did not abate. I sat at a table with a direct line of site to my bike. About thirty minutes into nursing my coffee, I spotted a women hunched down near my bike! You messed with the wrong person, lady. Swarm! Swarm! About to launch hot coffee into her face (actually I was still sitting down inside and hadn’t made the slightest attempt to move), I realized she had just dropped her keys. She picked them up and moved on. Perhaps it was time I did the same and get my Trek back to friendly ground.

20120212-185937.jpg

The complete Utilitaire 12 series can be found here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 15, 2012 11:29 pm

    Great post! You have to be EXTRA alert for those people doing the fake key drop and then running off with your bike!

Leave a Reply

