Skip to content

Bridgestone Project: Greenlight

January 17, 2012

So before you start any bike conversion, build, or refurb there are two things you must now. First, you will not be saving money by going down this route versus buying a new bike. For some reason the sum of the parts is always greater than the sum of the whole. I don’t know why, it just is. So, before proceeding make sure you’re bent of keeping your old bike frame or looking forward to the journey of the build. For me, I had an attachment to the frame since it was my my first “real bike”. Also, to me, there are few things as gratifying as building something yourself. I don’t have the garage to build a car, the land to build a house, but a bicycle build is of ideal scope for apartment life.

Second, no matter how much your friends and family enjoy bicycles, they will not be nearly as interested as you in every detail planned out for your build. Sure, they’ll be eager to see the finished product. But, a 40-minute discourse on handlebar diamaters is only exciting to you, the builder. Lucky for me the internet can’t roll it’s eyes and walk away so I’m free to debate the aesthetic benefits of silver versus shiny gray brake cables.

Last week, I mentioned I was going to see “Kate” at the local bike shop to gauge the feasibility of converting my Bridgestone to a touring machine. “Kate” was awesome and we discussed the necessary steps, restrictions with my current set-up, and what had to be done to overcome them. After about an hour and a half of questioning (did I mention she was awesome and extremely patient), we were ready to order the first round of parts for the project. Putting a third crank wheel on the bike was critical to getting it to touring standards, therefore it would be the first order of business. Additionally, since the chainrings, bottom bracket, and etc part installation requires specific shop tools, I was more than happy to leave this particular task in the hands of the professionals. Besides, I was confident there would be plenty of opportunities for my own tantrums, cursing, and fits of rage in the upcoming weeks as I try to piece this project together.

I told her to think happy thoughts before the surgery

Leave a Reply

