Skip to content

This one makes you fat

December 14, 2011

In continuing with this week’s bike commuting theme, the typical response I get when someone finds out I bike to work is, “oh, that’s so dangerous.” Oftentimes, they’ll continue with some anecdotal story about how a family friend of a friend was hit by a car while biking. My rebuttal is that the health benefits outweigh the potential costs.

There are some great info-graphics out there that highlight this point (some which might be spam). When was the last time you’ve seen a study about how a car-centric society can defeat obesity?

20111216-134725.jpg

Note: a couple of months ago, I was driven off the road by an aggressive motorist and broke my arm. Despite my fear the PTSD would keep me from riding again, I was itching to be back on the bike as soon as the pain subsided. I even completed a 40 mile MTB ride just 4 weeks after the incident (shh…don’t tell my physical therapist). To me, it’s worth it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

