Skip to content

#HubsnPubs Report

November 17, 2012

I’ve been in a bit of a bike funk lately. Between a new internship cutting potential commute days in half, back-to-back conferences, and finishing projects, my cycling opportunities have been limited (which I guess explains why I haven’t posted anything for the last month and a half). So when a heard that @crysb had organized a 15-mile ride that would swing by three DC breweries, I figured grant proposals could wait another day. This would be too much fun to pass up.

Convincing Mrs. Bicyclebug (@workforcashmere) to come along, we met up with a growing group at Big Bear Cafe. I thought about grabbing a pre-ride muffin, but after poking my head inside at a very long, typical Saturday line I decided to just mingle outside instead. Shortly after noon, our crowd was off.

@Gyspybug and @DailyRandonneur the Grand Marshalls of #bikeDC had stopped by to snap photos and send their regards to this bike parade.  Which reminds me, I really need to get my coffeneuring stuff over to her  (I’m in the “I was going to complete the challenge but…” category).

20121117-203342.jpg

Hey, I know her!

My favorite part of this ride was the meet up with tweeps.  Besides some of my favorite twitter personalities including @dirteng, @rootchooper, and @sharrowsDC, I also met for the first time in person @MrTinDC and @DizzyLuv25. There’s something slightly weird but also great about knowing somebody so well you never actually met (did this sound crazy to people who don’t check twitter as much as I do?).

20121117-203522.jpg

After our second brewery, Crystal realized we left someone behind. Oops. Luckily for the straggler this ride had a strict no drop policy. We spent the next few minutes mingling on the side of the NW Branch trail. The sky was blue and beer filled our stomaches so it didn’t look like anyone was upset waiting. Ted was even kind enough to snap a photo of the two of us (I smell Christmas card…)

Not Ted’s photo, not our holiday card

By the time the lost party arrived, we had decided that this was as good a time as any to head back. With a nice sampling from both Chocolate City and DC Brau, this Saturday ride was a great and welcomed distraction from the errands of life. Thanks again to Crystal for putting this one together.

**********

PS: Unfortunately, I did later hear that a rider took a nasty fall when his scarf got caught in his wheel. He ended up going to the hospital but all things considered he appeared to be “ok.” It was nice to find out that the riders stayed with him and a group even transported his bike home for him.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2012 10:54 pm

    Great to see you again (on what is becoming a DC bike ride trend lately)! Friend that had the accident is going to be okay, fortunately. It was probably one of the worst ways to fall. But everybody really pulled together to help out which was the best I could have asked for in a bad situation. It was an important reminder that we have to always be careful when riding, a thought for both experienced and newer riders.

    • November 17, 2012 10:57 pm

      Great to hear. Finding out about the second part of the story really reinforces how strong and caring the bikeDC community is – which is pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

